

- Workshop - natESM – Strategy

21 February 2022, 10 a.m. – 2 p.m.

Online via Zoom

Steering Committee: Jochem Marotzke (MPI-M), Sarah Jones (DWD) Thomas Jung (AWI), Michael Schulz (IUP - MARUM), Ina Tegen (TROPOS)

Co-Chairs: Sabine Attinger (UFZ), Joachim Biercamp (DKRZ), Georg Feulner (PIK), Stefan Kollet (FZ Jülich), Roland Potthast (DWD), Markus Rapp (DLR), Hauke Schmidt (MPI-M)

Project Leader: Hendryk Bockelmann (DKRZ)

The natESM support team is located at DKRZ and JSC. Based in a DKK initiative of the German Earth System Modelling Community, the overall goal is to build a national ESM strategy for the future.









Agenda 21 February

10:05–10:15	Plenary Welcome and Introduction Jochem Marotzke
10:15 – 10:20	Plenary Welcome from BMBF Armin Mathes
10:20-13:20	Plenary Requests for Support – presentation of received applications Q & A about requests Hendryk Bockelmann Applicants (5 min.)
	1 Miguel Andrés-Martinez – AWI
	2 Dmitry Sidorenko – AWI
	3 Vera Fofonova – AWI
	4 Tatiana Ilyina – MPI-M
	5 Stephan Thober – UFZ
	6 Ali Hoshyaripour – KIT
	7 Nils Brüggemann – MPI-M
	8 Kerstin Hartung – DLR- PA
	9 Astrid Kerkweg – FZ Jülich + DLR-PA
12:00 – 12:20	Break
	10 Joakim Kjellsson – GEOMAR
	11 Daniel Caviedes Voullieme- FZ Jülich
	12 Emil Stanev – HEREON
	13 Marcel Ricker – HEREON
13:20 – 14:00	Plenary Open discussion and next steps Michael Schulz

The natESM support team is located at DKRZ and JSC. Based in a DKK initiative of the German Earth System Modelling Community, the overall goal is to build a national ESM strategy for the future.





